by Blog Hub

Kangaroo is an Australian national animal. All the animals can be distinguished by characteristics. Like that Kangaroo has their own characteristics. There are different types of kangaroo like the eastern gray kangaroo, the western gray kangaroo, and the red kangaroo, as well as antilopine kangaroo and two species of wallaroo.

  • Common Features:

With the exception of genus Dendrolagus kangaroos, all other kangaroos (Macropodidae) rely on long, powerful hind legs and feet for hopping and leaping, their predominant forms of locomotion. Kangaroo has narrow foot and each foot has four toes, the large fourth toe bearing most of the weight of kangaroo body. The head is small as compared to structure of the body; and the mouth is small, with bulbous lips: the ears are (in most macropodids) rounded and large. All kangaroo families have a chambered stomach that is functionally similar cattle and sheep.

  • Development

The young kangaroo born at very immature stage and it is not stable. Young kangaroo is near about 2 cm long and weighs less than a gram. Immediately after birth, it uses its already clawed and well-developed forelimbs to crawl up the mother’s body and enter the pouch. The young kangaroo called a joey. After several weeks, it becomes more active and start spend more time without mother. Two different teats produce two different composition of milk after birth. Large kangaroo has complex teeth structure.

  • Behavior:

Kangaroos are unpredictable like whether of Australia. They are highly active during night or a low lights. It is very easy to find family of kangaroo’s during sunlight. Kangaroo lick their forearms, kangaroos travel in group and feed in a group always. But they are not clearly social animal. Male kangaroos fight with each other for female kangaroo with boxing, kicking and biting each other. They have very strong hand and very good boxer I must say.

  • Species places

Tasmania is a part of Australia and the eastern gray kangaroo (Macropus giganteus) mostly found in that areas. Western gray kangaroo (M. fuliginosus) mostly cover western part of Australia. Both type of spices we can found in the part of western Victoria and the New South Wales. Western gray kangaroos are stockier and more brownish as compared to other; there are different subspecies in the southwest, on Kangaroo Island, and on the Nullarbor Plain. All the species have different characteristics. Eastern gray has height up to 2.1 meter and weigh up to 90 kg. The red kangaroo found in all arears of Australia. They are the most powerful and largest species amongst all. Red kangaroos can be easily identified due to long arm. Gray kangaroos are more uniformly coloured, and the nose is haired.